School Logo

The Dassett C of E Primary School

Together we learn, independently we grow.

Get in touch

Social Media

Areas of Learning

There are 3 prime areas of learning and 4 specific areas of learning in the EYFS Profile. There are also three desired characteristics of learning and these are all set out below.:


The Prime Areas of Learning

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


The Specific Areas of Learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


 The Characteristics of Learning

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically